Home for the holidays… or not!

Another year has come and gone, and with the beginning of 2014 comes an opportunity for reflection. 2013 was a year of ups and downs for me, with many blessings and trials. I have met people who have become some of my best friends, tried to navigate the emotional roller coaster which comes with being an exchange student, made connections with people from different countries around the world and, most importantly, learned a lot about myself and the world I live in. New Year’s is a time to think back on the past year and move into the future with gratitude; this year, I am most thankful for my family. Though they are thousands of miles away, they never fail in supporting me through good and bad times.

This year was the first year I was away from my family for the holidays. Christmas is not an extremely important holiday for my family; because we are not religious, it is essentially just a time to spend time with family and friends. The YES Abroad students were told to expect an increase in homesickness around the holidays, but I never expected this. However, seeing my family together, playing in the snow and being together did make me wish I was with them. Ever since I was five years old, we have been a family of four. For the first time in ten years, I saw this change; this time, I was the one missing. With each picture they sent me, I more acutely felt my desire to be back home with them. 

Image

Oh what fun it is to ride in a two-horse open sleigh!

Fortunately, YES Abroad had organized some activities to take our minds off of homesickness. We had a holiday party at the house of the program’s country director, where we had dinner and impersonated Santa. Well, at least I did.

Image

I know, I make a very convincing Santa.

Image

Mae, Shanaya and I festively sporting our Santa hats.

Here’s a scenario which perfectly shows the irony of my life: the first time I went to a Christmas Eve church service was in Oman- and I was wearing an abaya and shayla! For four other YES Abroad girls, this was also their first time at church. For me, the highlights of the evening were the hymns! After we finished the service, we all went to one of the YES Abroad girls’ house for a sleepover. While there, we opened out not-so-secret Secret Santa presents, and ate Christmas cookies.

Image

My Christmas Eve outfit, and what I wore to church!

The next day, we awoke at unnaturally early time, and got ready to meet our American “host families” for the day! Davan and I were placed with the same family, and we cooked a vegan Christmas lunch and made gingerbread bridges and mangers with them. They provided us with a taste of home and a great day, and we intend to keep in touch with them. 

After days of excitement and fun spent with friends, 2014 has arrived, and I hope it treats us all well.

Until next time-
Caillean