Music

I have been meaning to write a post featuring a few of my favorite Arabic singers for quite some time now. Music is a universal language, made obvious by the fact that you could stop a random person on the street, look through their iPod, and find songs in numerous languages.However, music is a widely contested subject in Islam, with many conservative believers adamantly asserting that music is haram, or forbidden, to Muslims. Other people believe music is only haram if it is written about haram topics, such as partying or drinking. And yet others think music is halal, or permissible. This is a very difficult issue to resolve, as there isn’t any scripture pertaining to music in the Qur’an. Now, back to the fun part: the songs!

1. Nancy Ajram, “Ya Banat”- I doubt you need the explanation, but this song is about girls. In case the copious amounts of pink and ruffles didn’t tip you off, “Ya Banat” translates roughly to “oh girls”. Nancy Ajram is one of my favorite singers, and she always makes very funny music videos!

2. Amr Diab, “Leila”- This song is very high on my list of favorite songs of all time. “Leila”, which is a name meaning “night”, was released earlier this year, while I was in Oman. I eagerly anticipated the release and then proceeded to torture the other YES Abroad students with the song for months. What can I say? It’s a good song!

3. Hussein al-Jasmi, “Habibi Barceloni”- This song is nothing but fun. The subject, though, is a bit bewildering. “Habibi Barceloni” means “My Love Barcelona”, and tells the story of a man who has changed his preference for football clubs in order to stay with his girlfriend. A bit odd, yes, but an addicting song!

 

4. Maher Zain, “InShaAllah”- The one type of music virtually all Muslims agree is halal is nasheed, or religious songs, such as these.
5. Dania, “Leiley”- I have not been able to find any other songs by this singer, which is a shame because I completely love this song! “Leiley” translates to “my night”, and this song is a sad song about heartbreak. “Your love is a dream I always wished for, please, the love of my life, return to me; I had enough share of torment. Since the day you traveled, I didn’t taste happiness.”
6. Mohammed Salem, “Qalb Qalb”- I first heard this song at a birthday party, where it was played so loud that it has permanently been seared into my eardrums. “Qalb” means “heart”, not to be confused with “kelb”, which means “dog”. Mistranslation could cause some problems!
7. Shereen, “Wennabi Law Gani”- This song is about a woman who refuses to take back a lover because he has wronged her. “I swear if he comes to me, kisses my hands and begs me, I’ll never come back to him again, I won’t accept excuses any more.”
8. Alabina, “Yallah Bina Yallah”- Alabina is a French-based group which preforms a mix of Arabic, Spanish, French, and Hebrew music. Singer Ishtar sings female vocals, and Los Niño de Sara provide guitar, percussion, and male vocals.
9. Fayruz, “Laylat Eid”- Fayruz is a very famous Lebanese Christian singer. Listen to this song and see if you can guess what song it is!
10. Maher Zain, “SubhanAllah”- Maher Zain makes another appearance on my list with this acapella song.

Staying Strong In Times Of Tragedy

Muscat and the Azzan bin Qais community experienced two tragedies yesterday, and the shock is still settling in. This morning at full-school assembly, a teacher made the announcement that ABQ had lost a tenth grade student last night to a motorcycle accident. As the reality hit, many students began to cry. The halls of ABQ today are not filled with running, laughing students with bright faces. His friends described him as a friendly, kind person always ready to greet you with a smile. I did not personally know the student who passed away, but my heart goes out to his family and everyone who knew him. Additionally, a bus full of students rolled over yesterday, killing four and injuring dozens more. I think it is safe to say that all of Muscat is praying for the recovery of the injured, and sending strength to the families of the deceased. Again, I did not know any of these students, but tragedies such as these really open your eyes to your own mortality, so the news affected me as well. 

In times of hardship such as these, it is important to grieve, but it is also important to recognize that we are still alive. We must grasp each day as an opportunity to learn and grow, and live each day as if it were our last. As we have all learned, tragedy can strike at any moment, and we must live our lives to the fullest. Be thankful for each day and every occurrence, no matter how difficult this might be. Live, love, learn, and never take life for granted. Again, please keep the families and friends of the students who passed away in your thoughts and prayers.