10 Ways To Know Oman Is Rubbing Off On You

1. When you can eat rice with your hands and manage not to make a mess worthy of a two year old. It’s quite a feat! I still have pictures from lunch on the first or second day the YES Abroad students were in Oman. There was more rice on the floor than in our mouths!

2. When “InShaAllah”, “ya3ni”, “bes khalaas”, and “al7amdullilah” are sprinkled very generously throughout your conversations.

3. When you are met with a nearly irresistible urge to call every cute child you meet either 7abibi or 7abibti. Boys who are around two years old are literally the cutest when wearing dishdashas!

4. When you realize with horror that you are forgetting your native language one word at a time. When writing this post, I had to use Google to look up how to spell about every fifth world. My case in point.

5. When you use “ya rabbi!” more frequently than its English equivalent of “oh my god!” I am going to use so many random Arabic phrases when I get home, so I would like to apologize in advance to my friends.

6. When the fact that Arabic uses different words for aunt, uncle, and cousin depending on whether they are maternal or paternal seems as unquestionable as the fact that the Earth revolves around the sun.

7. When Chips Oman are a must for any snack to be complete.

8. When you have accepted the fact that plans are always negotiable, if any plan exists in the first place. However, you can totally accept that fact grumpily, like me.

9. When your first response to anything displeasing is a disapproving click of the tongue. “Ma zain. Waaaagid ma zain.”

10. When you shudder at the idea of returning to America and wearing a tank top, or worse- shorts! Since I came to Oman, my swimming attire has magically morphed from a regular swim suit into leggings and a tee shirt.

2 thoughts on “10 Ways To Know Oman Is Rubbing Off On You

Leave a comment